Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting occurred on Sunday 27th August. Here are some highlights from the meeting…

The new committee elected at this AGM are:

  • President: Sue Wright
  • Past President: Lesley Milne
  • Secretary: Paula Storey
  • Treasurer: Roger Watts
  • Rebecca Caroe
  • Trish Fenton
  • Allan Vester
  • Kevin Horan
  • Stuart Wade


Regattas – Trish, Lesley, Paula, Kevin

Awards – Allan, Lesley, Paula

New Events – Sue, Rebecca, Stuart

Advocacy – Rebecca, Stuart, Sue

We would like to acknowledge our Past President, Brian Parr. He is no longer on the committee, but has offered continuing support as needed.

Also, we would like to acknowledge Keith Hibberd who has resigned. He was involved in setting up the first Masters Regatta on the Tamaki River in 1984 and has been supporting the Legion for the past 39.5 years, particularly helping with regatta conditions and regatta events format.

The New Zealand Under 19 Junior Rowers received awards totalling $10,000 from the Legion of Rowers. This funding was much needed as the cost for each rower was $14,000 to attend the regatta in Paris. The recipients shared their experiences of competing in Paris for the Under 19 – see the separate article.

Past rowers provide invaluable support at the Legion regattas, the Legion tent will provide a base at future regattas where they can connect with each other.

The guest speaker was Steven Mayo-Smith, he spoke on “Past history of rowing and into the future”. The presentation provided an insightful, humorous review of rowing as an evolving sport. He also challenged the audience to consider some significant shifts that are currently in play for our sport.